SOJ Insider | Ralph Izard

Alumni honors

Ralph Izard honored with SPJ Distinguished Teaching Award

Ralph Izard (MSJ, 1962; BSJ, 1961) received the Distinguished Teaching in Journalism Award from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) in the fall of 2007. The award honors an outstanding journalism educator who has made a significant contribution to the profession and/or journalism education.

Izard is the Sig Mickelson/CBS Professor in the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University and professor emeritus in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. He worked at Ohio University for 32 years, 12 as director of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism.

He was president of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication from 1992-93 and vice president for campus chapter affairs of SPJ from 1976 to 1979. In 1985, he received the Wells Memorial Key, SPJ’s highest national award for service.


P.O. Box 6010 | Morgantown, WV 26506-6010
Phone: 304-293-3505 | Fax: 304-293-3072 | Contact Us

West Virginia University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution.
© 2017 West Virginia University | Last Modified: July 25, 2008

West Virginia University AlumniAlumni - Update Your Information     West Virginia University Foundation