SOJ Insider | Advisory Board

SOJ Advisory Committee welcomes new members, new structure

The School of Journalism’s Advisory Committee has undergone changes during the past year. The group, now led by new chairman Scott Widmeyer (BSJ, 1974), has decided to meet twice a year and held its first spring meeting in April 2008.

In addition, the Advisory Committee established three working subcommittees to focus on development and advancement, curriculum and IMC program innovations. Each subcommittee will be given specific assignments to help the School enhance opportunities for students and strengthen its national reputation.

“There is a great deal of excitement within the School as its programs aim to engage a new generation of communications professionals,” said Widmeyer. “We believe strongly that the Advisory Committee exemplifies that same sort of energy in charting new directions for the School. These folks are all busy professionals, but the School remains a top priority for them.”

The Committee also was expanded to include several new associate members, who will provide additional expertise, feedback and support on new initiatives.

The IMC subcommittee met separately in New York City in March 2008 to discuss curriculum development, recruitment of top faculty and marketing the program to new audiences.


P.O. Box 6010 | Morgantown, WV 26506-6010
Phone: 304-293-3505 | Fax: 304-293-3072 | Contact Us

West Virginia University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution.
© 2017 West Virginia University | Last Modified: July 28, 2008

West Virginia University AlumniAlumni - Update Your Information     West Virginia University Foundation